Wrap Ups

March and April Wrap Up

Hello everyone! I’m so sorry for not managing to write a wrap up post in March again. I’ve put March and April in one post!


What I did in March and April

The highlight of my blogging was conducting my first author and character interview. It was intriguing to see the relationship between an author and character play out in interview format. Do check out my interview with Hitomi and Intisar Kahanani, her author, here.

I’ve finished my second trimester of university. I can’t believe that it’s only going to be one more trimester and then I’ve complete my MSc in Publishing. Time goes by so fast. The biggest assignment I had was designing and typesetting a book in InDesign. I really enjoyed the challenge!

I had the chance to travel through Scotland a bit last month, and WOAH, the landscape is so beautiful. I definitely want to visit some nature reserves before I finish university.

I volunteered at the Society of Young Publishers Scotland in their conference committee, and assisted in planning the 2018 conference. It was loads of fun and I applied to join the SYP Scotland Committee. I was so happy when I was accepted and became part of the new committee. I hold the positions of Inclusivity Officer and Communications Officer.

My Sinhala practice is going alright. It’s really not easy as there aren’t many online resources but I’m doing the best I can.

What I’ll be doing in May

It’s my birthday next Tuesday (15th), so I’m definitely looking forward to that.

I’m also going to be participating in Asian Lit Bingo. Here’s my TBR. Are any of you participating?

Otherwise, May will mainly be about preparing my research and outlining my dissertation. I plan to focus on the topic of Open Access.


Posts that I enjoyed this month (I didn’t get to blog hop much 😦 )

TTT #8 – [Damn, My Dog Ate My Kindle] 10 Audiobooks I Want To Listen To

Posts that I published in March and April
Non-review posts

January and February Wrap Up

Character and author interview: Hitomi and Intisar from The Sunbolt Chronicles

The Unique Blogger Award

Reviews

Piecing Me Together – Renée Watson

Failure to Communicate – Kaia Sønderby

The Defectives – Burgandi Rakoska

The Belles – Dhonielle Clayton

The Night Diary – Veera Hiranandani

In the Shadow of the Banyan – Vaddey Ratner

The Astonishing Color of After – Emily X. R. Pan

The Hungry Ghosts – Shyam Selvadurai

The City of Brass – S. A. Chakraborty

Not So Stories – edited by David Thomas Moore

An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

You Bring the Distant Near – Mitali Perkins

Inside Out and Back Again – Thanhha Lai

The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

The Forbidden Wish – Jessica Khoury

A Girl Like That – Tanaz Bhathena

Song of Blood and Stone – L. Penelope


What did you do in March and April?

6 thoughts on “March and April Wrap Up

  1. Happy birthday in advance!! Any plans for the day?

    During my Journalism classes, we had to create magazines using InDesign and I loved the experience of it so much!

    Congratulations on getting accepted into the SYP Scotland Committee! Will you be writing a post on your experience?

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’ll be meeting my brother and eating Indian food. I’m going to try to convince him that it is absolutely necessary that we go to the Malaysian restaurant and have teh tarik!

      I really love using software!

      Thank you for the SYP congrats as well. I expect that I will write a post when I finish my experience!

      Like

Leave a comment