Wrap Ups

September Wrap Up

Hello everyone! A lot has happened in the last month! I’ve settled into my student room in Edinburgh, started university, launched a new project with some bloggers, and got to know so many new people! It’s been hectic, it’s been energy-consuming, but it’s been great!


What I did in September

In September, some of the bloggers who hosted Asian Lit Bingo and I launched Lit CelebrAsian! We have a website, Instagram, Twitter, Litsy, Goodreads group and Tumblr. The poll for the first group read ended yesterday, and we’ll be reading Rebel Seoul! Do join us if you want to! I’m really excited about this project.

This month’s character interview was with Evie from the novel Plastic Wings. It’s an amazing dark angel fantasy and it features a black, asexual-spectrum character. I love the portrayal of the dystopian world in this book, and the portrayal of the dark angels. Check out the character interview. If you’re interested in reading my review, click here.

Filled out Diversity Bingo 2017 sheetI finally finished Diversity Bingo 2017! I’m so happy that I decided to take part in this bingo, because it allowed me to find so many new authors, some have even been added to my list of favourite authors!

My favourite Diversity Bingo 2017 books are:

  • The Defectives by Burgandi Rakoska
  • No More Heroes by Michelle Kan
  • The Traitor’s Tunnel by C.M. Spivey
  • Saree by Su Dharmapala
  • The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
  • A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman
  • Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

I started studying MSc Publishing at Edinburgh Napier University this month and it’s been amazing. My courses are Publishing in Practice, Publishing in Context, and Fiction and the Fiction Market. I love that we’re focused on honing our practical skills.

I’ve been going to a lot bookish events this month – they’ve been so interesting and I’ve met so many great people! I’m so impressed by how bookish Edinburgh on the whole is. There are so many interesting events to go to.

What I’ll be doing in October

In October, I’m going to be spending more time focusing on my studies and I hope to gain a more in-depth understanding of the industry.

I’m also looking for a buddy-read partner for the Lit CelebrAsian pick for October-November: Rebel Seoul. If you’d like to buddy read, reply to my ask on the Goodreads group.


Posts that I enjoyed this month

Nothing can be changed until it is faced (about diversity in children’s publishing)

How to approach reviewers – dos and don’ts

Arc Review: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C Dao (Rise of the Empress #1) + Fan Art

Publishing Money-Making Strategies I Hate

Posts that I published in September
Non-review posts

August Wrap Up (Goodbye Berlin, Hello Edinburgh!)

How I Use Goodreads

Character interview: Evie from Plastic Wings by C. T. Callahan (no spoilers)

Reviews

The Tiger’s Watch – Julia Ember

A Jigsaw of Fire and Stars – Yaba Badoe

Six of Crows Duology – Leigh Bardugo

Water in May – Ismée Williams

The Traitor’s Tunnel – C. M. Spivey

Inter*Trans*Express* – Ika Elvau

A Bunch of Jews (and other stuff) – Max B. Perlson & Trina Robbins

City of Betrayal – Claudie Arseneault

Daybreak Rising – Kiran Oliver

Co-authored posts

Introducing Literary CelebrAsian (a.k.a Lit CelebrAsian!) (co-authored with the Lit CelebrAsian team)


How was your September? What did you get up to? Did you read anything great?

 

6 thoughts on “September Wrap Up

  1. Oh it seems like you had a lovely September! I hope your courses are going well – studying publishing sounds fascinating, you’re so lucky. Also, quite lucky to be able to be in Edinburg, I dream of visiting this city someday 🙂
    Congratulations on the diversity bingo! I’m glad you enjoyed Written in the stars so much, it sounds quite great and I added it to my TBR 🙂
    Hope you’ll have a lovely OCtober xx

    Like

  2. September for me was part of recovering from a 2 month long reading slump, however, I did read Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody which was so unique and fantastic (it’s about travelling city carnavals and illusions that can be murdered!).

    Like

      1. You have to read it to find out more 😏 but it’s such a bizarre and magical world, and yes there is diversity in it too! Would highly recommend. I’m out of my slump now 😊

        Like

Leave a comment