Interviews

Character interview: Evie from Plastic Wings by C. T. Callahan (no spoilers)

Hello everyone! I’d like to introduce you to Evie today. An amazing girl, and the main character of Plastic Wings! Growing up in a dystopian world is not an easy thing to do, and while Evie has many flaws, I admire how she tries to do the right thing. Let’s get to the interview!


Hi Evie! I’m glad that you could find some time to meet up with me for the interview. How are you? How’s life been treating you?

I’m doing well. Things have been hectic, but I’m glad to be here so thank you for having me.

What is your favourite book during your childhood?

That’s actually a pretty hard question for me. Books meant a lot to me growing up, both because they made me feel closer to my brother but also because I never felt quite satisfied with my life the way it was, but I guess my favorite was probably Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. It may have been the first place I actually felt like I belonged in.

What kind of hobbies do you have? What calms you down when you’re stressed?

*Laughs* I haven’t really had a lot of time to think about hobbies lately. My schedule’s been pretty much back to back chaos, but I do like to take some time away to spend some time with nature. Growing up, I used to spend most of my time in the forest. I had this naive perspective that it was mine and everything that happened there was a world that I could shape, so even knowing now that things are largely out of my control, I feel more serene when I’m in the woods.

What would you like to accomplish in life?

You know, this question honestly just stumps me. What would I like to accomplish in life? *Laughs* I honestly don’t know. I guess I’m just not very good at thinking in grandiose terms. I’d like to not be miserable and maybe feel like I’ve made a difference for someone. Other than that, I guess I’m pretty indifferent.

What does your perfect evening look like?

Wow, these questions are more difficult than I expected. My perfect evening–I guess I’d just like it to be quiet. A nice dinner, maybe a book, some pretty scenery. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen firelights before, but they’re really breathtaking. I could spend a whole evening watching them.

Which personality trait do you admire the most?

Every trait is a double-edged sword in my experience. Every trait that’s ever made me love someone has also backfired on me at some point so I don’t think I can narrow down a trait that really stands out as superior, but I guess it’s more just a matter of how they manifest and how the bearer uses them. Maybe adaptability, I guess. Just being able to grow and change, even if that means people sometimes grow away from us. I can respect that.


C.T. CallahanAuthor profile

C.T. Callahan is the author of young adult fantasy, sci-fi, and a weird assortment of short stories. Hailing from a mixed-racial background, they’ve pledged their writing to contribute to the spread of diversity in fiction and the fight for equality. When away from reading and writing, you’ll most likely find them engaged in art or snuggling cute dogs. Learn more at .


Evie is from the series The Evie Weiss Chronicles. If you’d like to read this book, you can find it on Goodreads. If you’d like to see what I thought of the book, you can check my review here.

One thought on “Character interview: Evie from Plastic Wings by C. T. Callahan (no spoilers)

Leave a Reply

