Wrap Ups

October Wrap Up

 

Wow…I am exhausted from the last month. So much happened!


What I did in October

I got an internship at a wonderful, left-leaning bookshop. It’s so cool to work there. I’m learning a lot about bookselling, curating the YA section and helping to plan a book fair. The bookshop has a lot of diverse books, so I’m enjoying working with all the books.

I had so much uni to do! I learnt more about the creation of an Advanced Information (AI) sheet, wrote a manuscript appraisal and started looking into publishing companies.

What I’ll be doing in November

Loads of university work! The trimester ends in the first week or so of December, so I have to study and finish some assignments.

It’s NaNoWriMo month! And I’ll be trying my best to write 50,000 words this month. I am writing a novel that has snippets of the daily life of a multiracial queer university student living in two different worlds, one of which is magical. There’s going to be dancing, magical publishing and shapeshifting! I’ve decided to write snippets because I am practically pantsing this project, even though I did do a minimal amount of planning. So I’m kind of a plantser, leaning heavily to the pantsing side. If you’re interested in following my progress, you can follow me on NaNoWriMo. I haven’t written prose creatively in ages, so I’m using this month as an opportunity to hone my creative writing skills.


Posts that I enjoyed this month

What is Magical Realism?

Death, Stillness, and Exile – Three Prongs of Asexual Imagery in Fiction

Who Tells Our Stories – Shauna

Hey Pubs! Trigger Warnings Need to be Normalized

#DiverseBookBloggersDiscuss: Seeking a Home – A Call for Adoption Narratives in Fiction

Posts that I published in August
Non-review posts

September Wrap Up

Character interview: Bridget from The Traitor’s Tunnel by C. M. Spivey (no spoilers)

Reviews

The Day Ends Like Any Day – Timothy Ogene

Take the Lead – Alexis Daria

The Hollow Girl – Hillary Monahan

Tale of a Boon’s Wife – Fartumo Kusow

Children of Blood and Bone – Tomi Adeyemi (sample review)

ein glas leben – Dinçer Güçyeter

The Beautiful Ones – Silvia Moreno-Garcia

The Red Threads of Fortune – J. Y. Yang

The Black Tides of Heaven – J. Y. Yang

Eelgrass – Tori Curtis

Guest posts (written by me) – they’re both poems!!!

How can I discuss discrimination with you

Where are you from?


How was October for you? Did you get anything amazing done?

 

Leave a Reply

