Interviews

Character interview: Bridget from The Traitor’s Tunnel by C. M. Spivey (no spoilers)

I got to chat with Bridget today, a talented thief and intriguing person. There is so much to find out about her. She’s one of the main characters in The Traitor’s Tunnel, and steals the show!


Hi Bridget! It’s wonderful to have you here! I’m so excited! How are you doing?

Sure and I’m flattered ye want to speak to me! I be like to get cocky, is how I’m doing; earned myself a fan or two with the tunnel business. Young things, followin’ me all around the Fourth Neighborhood, rattling questions and heapin’ praise. Damn if it isn’t sweet, but a thief needs her space.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

Spare time! That’s a laugh. Thiefking’s making me regret this notion to give in to the Guild. Barely had time to do any of my own thieving, since he’s had me running about all over the city. I tell you what, though, I still get all the time I like with my lovely lady Keaton. Brogan Thiefking needs her in high spirits, just like the rest of us!

Which trait do you value most in friends?

Honesty. Some folk’d laugh to hear a thief talk of honesty–and don’t mistake me, there be plenty of folk I’m friendly with but wouldn’t hesitate to give a little lie here and there. But true, thick-and-thin friends…if ye lie to them, ye’re lying to yourself, cause you’re not really friends at all.

Which living person do you look up to in life?

I wager this is just ‘cause it’s so near to my memory, now, but…Teddy. My brother, barely a year older than me and workin’ high level in the palace. Sure and that’s not the kind of success a given body wants–but he wants it, and he’s getting it. And that’s something to respect.

If you could live anywhere in Arido, where would you want to live?

Sure and I love the city of Del–but time to time I do miss the forest. The city ain’t never truly quiet; the city ain’t never truly safe. Reckon the forest ain’t safe neither, but a bear will only eat you. There’s worse than that in the world.

How do you feel about magic?

Only a fool disrespects magic, and I’m no fool. And magic…magic be large, ye ken? Too large to be one thing, good, bad, useful, dangerous. It be all that, and more, and better and worse. Only thing certain is that it’s best left to witches.

And thieves who happen to have a bit of witchblood, o’ course.


Spivey.pngAuthor profile

C.M. Spivey is a speculative fiction writer, author of the high fantasy Trident Chronicles series, and the paranormal series, The Unliving. His enduring love of fantasy started young. Now, he explores the rules and ramifications of magic in his own works—and as a panromantic asexual trans man, he’s committed to queering his favorite genres.


Bridget is one of the main characters in The Traitor’s Tunnel. She is a minor character in From Under The Mountain (Book 1 of the Guerline Cycle series). Check out my review for The Traitor’s Tunnel here and my review for From Under the Mountain here.

 

3 thoughts on “Character interview: Bridget from The Traitor’s Tunnel by C. M. Spivey (no spoilers)

Leave a Reply

