Interviews

Character interview: The Little Mermaid from Sea Foam and Silence by Lynn E. O’Connacht (no spoilers)

Welcome to a new character interview with the Little Mermaid from Sea Foam and Silence! This interview takes place after the events in the book. I’m so excited about interviewing her, mainly because one of my favourite hobbies is dancing, and she loves dancing as well!


Hello! 🙂 It’s nice to see
You!
I’m so excited! 😀
How are you?

Hello! ^_^
I am excited too!
Everything is so new and strange
How do you make animals
Listen to you?
My prince got me a puppy, but
It is very strange and keeps wanting
To toss things around. :/ Why does it do that?
How are you? Have you had a puppy before?

Oh no! I’ve never had a puppy.
I was allergic when I was younger.
And my family moved a lot.
I never wanted one.
And thanks for asking,
I’m feeling good at the moment.
Just so happy to be able to
Interview you. 😀

You said that
you enjoy dancing.
What kind of styles?
Alone or in a group?

I adore dancing! It reminds me
Of home.
It is not the same because
It hurts and tall-crabs cannot go up. 😦

Well. You can go up a little.
Briefly.

Dancing is…
I like all dancing,
But I like it best
When there are no rules.

Tall-crabs are very fond of rules. 😦
Not rules like “Do not hunt sharks alone”,
But rules like “You must eat with a knife”.
Why do tall-crabs do that? My teeth are sharper.
But they get angry if I do not use a knife. T_T

I like dancing with others too
Because then I feel less lonely.
It is like playing with my sisters.
A little.

Am I answering questions right? T_T
My sisters and I never ask questions
Like this!
It is very strange!

Yes! Yes!
You are answering perfectly.
Quite wonderfully.
Your answers are
Beautiful.

Now you swim with legs,
Before you swam with a tail.
How is it different?
What do you prefer … if you prefer one?

I do not swim much actually! :O

My prince’s castle is far
From the sea
And I do not like the taste
Of sweet water.

It tastes like…
Like…
I don’t know T_T
But I don’t like it.

And it makes me miss
My sisters.

Also tall-crabs go all wrinkly
And I do not like the feel of my skin
When it is wet.

But legs are very cumbersome
When you are swimming.
They do not turn right
And tall-crabs are so slow!
I dislike being slow.
I don’t want to get eaten. T_T

Do you have a favourite animal?
In water, on land, or in air?

I like all animals!
But I think I like
Dolphins best.

They are very friendly. ^_^
They don’t sing like whales do
Not really and not well
But they are good at play
With bubbles and we can
Look after each other.

What is your aim in life?
Is there something you wish to accomplish?

o_O

I do not understand.

Why

Would I aim for anything?
I live.
I enjoy living.
I meet people.
I learn.

I know my prince worries
A lot about things,
But I do not understand well.

My sisters and I, we live
From one day onto the next
And we do not worry about this ‘future’
The way that tall-crabs do.

I understand it better now!
It was the cook who explained it! ^_^
Well. Lots of tall-crabs did,
But I understood the cook.

They said… They said…
The future is when you
Make sure there is always
Enough to eat. ^_^

My sisters and I we follow
Our food. But tall-crabs do not.
Tall-crabs put their food in one place
And if there is not enough food to eat
Then they stay.

My sisters and I would leave.
We would follow the food to where
There is enough. ^_^

When you’re sad

Missing your sisters

Missing the sea

What makes you happy?>

Dancing makes me happy!
And learning about tall-crab things. ^_^

But not carriages.

I don’t like carriages.
They move all wrong
And they block out all the land.
I don’t know why you would block out the land. T_T

Houses do that too.
Some of the castle rooms
Have no windows! It’s all cave and cave
And cave and horrid. T_T

But dancing makes me happy. ^_^
It hurts, but I enjoy moving and
Seeing what this tall-crab body can do.

I can lift my leg so high! 😀
And I can be held.

In the sea, everything is you.
Tall-crabs need each other much more.
You can see when dancing
Because sometimes a tall-crab could fall
And doesn’t!
Because the other tall-crab is stopping
Them from falling. ^_^

I think that is beautiful
And that makes me happy. ^_^

Do you have things
That make you happy?

Lots of things make me happy.
Dancing makes me happy too! 😀
I love dancing, especially alone.
Reading also makes me happy,
I can curl up and be in my own world. 😉

^_^ I am only learning to read,
But it seems very difficult.
My prince sketches.
I do not understand that.
It is too still for me to enjoy,
But he is always smiling
And he does not look like he
Is fighting against a strong current
And losing. T_T


Author profile

Most recently spotted in the wilds of continental Europe, Lynn E. O’Connacht lives on a steady diet of fiction. Her favourite treats are fantasy and soft science fiction. The lynnetbird is more commonly known as the lion-bird as cats have built up a positive symbiotic relationship with her. Sightings of Lynn E. O’Connacht are rare as she is a shy creature, most likely to be seen in the early mornings.

Lynn can be found at her homepage and on Twitter.


The Little Mermaid is from the verse novel Sea Foam and Silence. If you’re interested in getting the book, you’re in luck. The e-book version of the book is currently on sale throughout the month of June 2017! You can find my review here. Check out the book and other reviews on Goodreads.


30640172Be careful what you wish for…

She warned of the pain. She did.
But no warning can prepare you.
Nothing can.

How could I have known
What it is like on the dry sand?
We just watched.

It’s hard, not being able to ask
Questions, though I have learned some speech
With my hands. ˆ_ˆ

I miss my sisters.

I have made friends here.
I have laughed with them,
Learned with them, played with them.
I love them.

She said I would die if he loves someone else.
Will I die? At the beginning I wanted to. It hurts
So much. Life isn’t easy, will never be easy, but…
I don’t want to become sea foam.

6 thoughts on “Character interview: The Little Mermaid from Sea Foam and Silence by Lynn E. O’Connacht (no spoilers)

  1. After reading this I really want her to go back to the sea and live with her sisters! She sounds like she misses them a lot

    (also yes I know this is fictional, but still!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

