Challenges

Ramadan Readathon: My TBR

Ramadan Mubarak everyone! I’m participating in Ramadan Readathon this month. This readathon is being hosted by Nadia and Zoya. I’m looking forward to the entire month. I’m especially excited about the Twitter chats, which are at quite a nice time for me here in Germany (this is not always the case).

I won’t be making a large TBR, since I’ve got a few other blog-related activities that I need to accomplish before September and I want to have more time for blog-hopping this month.


My TBR
Minaret – Leila Aboulela

Minaret

In her Muslim hijab, with her down-turned gaze, Najwa is invisible to most eyes, especially to the rich London families whose houses she cleans. But twenty years earlier it was a different story. Najwa was at university in Khartoum and, as an upper-class westernised Sudanese, her dreams were to marry well and raise a family. However, those days of innocence came to an abrupt end and tough years followed. Now Najwa finds solace in her visits to the Mosque, the companionship of the Muslims she meets there and in the hijab she adopts. Her dreams may have shattered but her awakening to Islam has given her a different peace. Then Najwa meets a younger man and slowly they begin to fall in love …

Jasmine Falling – Shereen Malherbe

Jasmine Falling

When Jasmine’s mother dies inside their English mansion, hope comes in the form of her multi-million pound inheritance. But with her inheritance threatened, Jasmine is left to contemplate a future she does not know how to live.

Jasmine has only ten days to uncover the circumstances of her father’s decade long disappearance before her fortune is lost forever. Forced to return to his homeland in Palestine, she follows his footsteps through stories long ingrained in the local’s minds. She is helped on her journey by a mysterious stranger who guides her through the trails of the Holy Land to the scattered broken villages, each harbouring its own secrets.

Under the watchful eyes of the ever-encroaching Occupation, Jasmine must piece together her history in the broken land, before it destroys her future.

Sunbolt – Intisar Khanani

SunboltThe winding streets and narrow alleys of Karolene hide many secrets, and Hitomi is one of them. Orphaned at a young age, Hitomi has learned to hide her magical aptitude and who her parents really were. Most of all, she must conceal her role in the Shadow League, an underground movement working to undermine the powerful and corrupt Arch Mage Wilhelm Blackflame.

When the League gets word that Blackflame intends to detain—and execute—a leading political family, Hitomi volunteers to help the family escape. But there are more secrets at play than Hitomi’s, and much worse fates than execution. When Hitomi finds herself captured along with her charges, it will take everything she can summon to escape with her life.

If I have the time and enjoyed the first book (Sunholt), I’ll also read:

Memories of Ash – Intisar Khanani

Memories of Ash

In the year since she cast her sunbolt, Hitomi has recovered only a handful of memories. But the truths of the past have a tendency to come calling, and an isolated mountain fastness can offer only so much shelter. When the High Council of Mages summons Brigit Stormwind to stand trial for treason, Hitomi knows her mentor won’t return—not with Arch Mage Blackflame behind the charges.

Armed only with her magic and her wits, Hitomi vows to free her mentor from unjust imprisonment. She must traverse spell-cursed lands and barren deserts, facing powerful ancient enchantments and navigating bitter enmities, as she races to reach the High Council. There, she reunites with old friends, planning a rescue equal parts magic and trickery.

If she succeeds, Hitomi will be hunted the rest of her life. If she fails, she’ll face the ultimate punishment: enslavement to the High Council, her magic slowly drained until she dies.


Are you participating in Ramadan Readathon? My favourite genre is fantasy so do you know of any fantasy books that feature Muslim characters or are written by Muslim authors?

12 thoughts on “Ramadan Readathon: My TBR

  1. I hadn’t heard of the Ramadan Readathon before. I’ll have to look up some books I could read. I’m going to try to find and read a few books this month that will fit in for this readathon.

    Like

      1. I just realised I forgot to reply to this, sorry! I’m really looking forward to Sunbolt or any other of the author’s works but I probably won’t get around to reading them this month. Still hoping I can squeeze in The Bone Knife!

        Like

  2. I hadn’t heard of Ramadan Readathon but I’ll have to think about it – I have a lot of books on black history piling up after doing #AsianLitBingo last month. All these books are new to me but Sunbolt sounds interesting.

    Don’t think I’ve ever read any Muslim fantasy novels (Ms. Marvel is more science fiction, but if you like superhero stories…) but The Gauntlet is getting buzz and there’s a novel called Alif the Unseen that is Muslim fantasy.

    … So as I was writing this comment started looking at this list and realized I own a few of them – we’ll see if I get to any.

    Like

      1. I’m not quite sure how I would characterize it. It talks about magic but uses it more as a basis for technology. Maybe it is more sci fi.

        Like

Leave a Reply

