Challenges

Asian Lit Bingo – Wrap Up Post

Asian Lit Bingo finishes today, so I thought I’d post my wrap-up post today. I had so much fun throughout the whole challenge – it was a truly awesome experience.

I was one of the two hosts for the first of three Twitter chats for this month, together with my amazing co-host Glaiza from Paper Wanderer. Here are the links for the recaps of the first chat, second chat and third chat (created by Glaiza).

I conducted my first character interview with Faye from No More Heroes. I had a lot of fun coming up with questions and talking with Faye’s creator, Michelle Kan, who also supplied the amazing illustrations in that post.

As you may remember, my goal at the beginning was to complete one row but after reading the amazing TBR-posts of other participants, I thought I’ll go for completing the entire board. And I actually succeeded! I’m quite happy about that.

Before I get to listing the books I read, I want to thank all my co-hosts for this great experience.


Here is a list of the books that I read (left to right, top to bottom) with Goodreads links, and reviews for those which have one already:

  • DAnVXQ7XcAABVUk.jpg large.jpg
    My completed bingo board

    East Asian MC

Epic Crush of Genie Lo – F.C.Yee
#ownvoices

  • Asian refugee MC

Der Falsche Inder – Abbas Khider
#ownvoices
Review

  • Asian immigrant MC

Girl in Translation – Jean Kwok
#ownvoices

  • Asian MC with disability

No More Heroes – Michelle Kan
#ownvoices
Review

  • Multiracial/multiethnic Asian MC

The Astrologer’s Daughter – Rebecca Lim
Review

  • LGBTQIAP+ Asian MC

The Hungry Ghosts – Shyam Selvadurai
#ownvoices

  • West Asian MC

Damascus Nights – Rafik Schami
#ownvoices

  • Asian Muslim MC

Sofia Khan is not Obliged – Ayisha Malik
#ownvoices

  • Religious Asian MC

In the Shadow of the Banyan – Vaddey Ratner
#ownvoices

  • Poor or working class Asian MC

Inside Out & Back Again – Thanhhai Lai
#ownvoices

  • SFF with Asian MC

Sorcerer to the Crown – Zen Cho

  • Historical fiction with Asian MC

Everything I Never Told You – Celeste Ng
#ownvoices

  • Free space

Written in the Stars – Aisha Saeed
#ownvoices
Review

  • Retelling with Asian MC

The Palace of Illusions – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
#ownvoices

  • Contemporary with Asian MC

The Other Half of Happiness – Ayisha Malik
#ownvoices

  • Graphic novel with Asian MC

The Best We Could Do – Thi Bui
#ownvoices

  • Queer romance with Asian MC

Seven Tears at High Tide – C.B. Lee
#ownvoices

  • Romance with POC/indigeneous love interest

The Forbidden Wish – Jessica Khoury
#ownvoices

  • Central Asian MC

Jamila – Chingiz Aitmatov
#ownvoices
Review

  • Translated work by an Asian author

Dragon Sword and Wind Child – Noriko Ogiwara
#ownvoices

  • South East Asian MC

 The Terracotta Bride – Zen Cho
#ownvoices

  • Asian superhero MC

Heroine Complex – Sarah Kuhn
#ownvoices

  • Asian transracial/adoptee MC

Throwaway Daughter – Ting-Xing Ye

  • Non-fiction by an Asian author

When Half is Whole: multiethnic Asian American identities – Stephen Murphy-Shigematsu
#ownvoices

  • South Asian MC

The Vishakanya’s Choice – Roshani Chokshi
#ownvoices


Did you participate in Asian Lit Bingo? Did you come across any books that you think I might enjoy? How did you find the event?

15 thoughts on “Asian Lit Bingo – Wrap Up Post

  1. Wow! I’m super impressed that you managed the full card – congrats! I’m hoping to complete the card with all of my 2017 reads. Most of the books I read were graphic novels or middle grade chapter books, and I wasn’t very strategic about actually completing a row.

    What did you think of The Best We Could Do? It’s been on my TBR for a while now. I’m also curious about your opinion of Throwaway Daughter and When Half is Whole – both are new to me but I have an interest in adoption and race in America.

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      I really enjoyed The Best We Could Do. I read it in greyscale because my Kindle doesn’t do colour. It was a really emotional read and the illustrations convey a lot of the sadness and frustration that they experienced as refugees.

      Throwaway Daughter was another fascinating read. One of the biggest bonuses was that there wasn’t a romantic plotline. It also deals a lot with belonging and how different people define that differently.

      I enjoyed When Half is Whole because I was able to identify with a lot of the experiences due to being multiracial. However, I thought there would be more diversity in the voices featured. Most of the people had some connection to Japan which I had not been expecting. I would love it if a similar book (with a more diverse representation of voices) was published about experiences in Germany.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on completing the whole card! That’s very impressive.

    I didn’t take part as I was too busy finishing up some books from the library but I’m definitely adding a lot of books from it to my TBR list as so many sound fascinating.

    Like

  3. Hearty congratulations! Glad you had a great time reading these books. What are your major takeaways from the experience?

    Like

    1. Thank you. I think the major takeaway was seeing how important this was for so many people, especially through the Twitter chats. I learnt more about what I should keep in mind while reviewing.

      I was also quite surprised about multiracial rep. Considering that most of these stories were about Asian diaspora MCs, I expect more multiracial rep because there are interracial relationships in the real world. So in that sense, I realised that I’ve got to be more on the lookout for multiracial rep.

      What did you think of it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Unfortunately, I was offline for quite a long time and only got back towards the end of the challenge, so I couldn’t participate. But I enjoyed having so many good books added to my TBR for the future 😊

        Like

  4. Wow, congratulations on completing the whole card! You’re right about the effect of seeing others’ TBRs – so many books I want to read on your list here, and others I’ve seen 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’ll be publishing reviews so this will just be a tentative list as I still want to check my notes.

      My tentative list of favourites is:
      Epic Crush of Genie Lo
      Girl in Translation
      No More Heroes
      The Hungry Ghosts
      Inside Out & Back Again
      Written in the Stars
      The Best We Could Do
      Jamila
      Heroine Complex
      Throwaway Daughter
      Vishakanya’s Daughter

      Like

Leave a Reply

