Reviews

Review: The Lost Hero – Rick Riordan

The Lost Hero.jpg
Book cover: Jason, Piper and Leo (left to right) fly on the dragon Festus. There are buildings in the background.

I was a huge fan of the the Percy Jackson series, which was one of my first introductions to stories influenced by mythology and old religions. I’m pretty sure that I read The Lost Hero before, but it’s been a long time ago and I wasn’t certain. I’m planning to reread and read most of Rick Riordan’s books and I’ll admit I started with this series because I thought it was the first book of Percy Jackson.

Rick Riordan has always been applauded for including marginalised characters in his books, and I absolutely love this.

The Lost Hero is the first book of the Heroes of Olympus series. It’s influenced by Roman and Greek mythology.

Leo, Piper and Jason are taken away to a camp in the middle of nowhere. Add some gods and goddesses to the mix, a prophecy and them finding out more about their parentage, and you’ve got the perfect mix of drama, action, and confusion.


This book is hilarious. It’s funny and light-hearted, yet due to the quest theme, as a reader, you are engaged in the story and want to find out how it ends.

There are three different perspectives through which the reader can view the action and development of the story. In my opinion, this was a great choice as it led to the reader understand the world of the Gods in more detail, as well as finding out how the different teenagers feel about the truths about themselves and talents that they are discovering.

I always enjoy it when author create different stories about the gods and goddesses of the old religions. A lot of the mythological stories that we’re have learnt are influenced by male researchers and by a different time period. One doesn’t know if the different regions in Greece and the Roman Empire might have had different stories about their gods and goddesses, and this gives people the opportunity to discover alternative ideas. Rick Riordan’s new interpretations of different Roman and Greek gods and goddesses are original and fascinating.

The diversity representation is great here. I couldn’t find anything problematic. There are several POC characters, and an entire group of characters have ADHD and dyslexia.

The words psycho and schizophrenic were used as a descriptor, which is ableist and not necessary. It’s shocking how ingrained ableist words are in our daily lives, I see so many books that have some form of ableism.


If you’re looking for something fun and magical, I totally recommend The Lost Hero. I especially loved the alternative stories of the gods and goddesses. I’ll be reading the next book as well, and I hope that it will be even better than this book.

4-stars
4 stars

Have you read The Lost Hero or other books by Rick Riordan? Is there a specific series of his that you totally adore?

6 thoughts on “Review: The Lost Hero – Rick Riordan

  1. I LOVE Riordan books! I like the second book even better than the first one (only partly because I adore Percy and Jason not so much). The diversity is a huge bonus for the Heroes of Olympus series, I think Riordan does a great job with the representation. Ooo, I would have to say I adore with the original Percy Jackson series because I kind of grew up with those books. But I see all his series as one unifying series since it involves the same characters, if that makes sense.

    Like

  2. Yeah! I am so glad you enjoyed this as much as I did! Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors and the Percy Jackson / Heroes of Olympus series is fantastic. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

