Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite LGBTQIA+ reads

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by Sam from ThoughtsonTomes. It’s a weekly meme. If you want to look for the past or future topics, you can visit the Goodreads group.


Favourite LGBTQIA+ reads
Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite LGBTQIA+ reads

This week’s topic is quite clear. I’ve been reading quite a few amazing books in the last months that have LGBTQIA+ characters. Be warned, there is quite a bit of fantasy in this list 😀 !

Here’s my list (there isn’t is any particular order)! Clicking on the book titles will take you to their Goodreads page.


City of Strife

City of Strife

City of Strife is my favourite book at the moment. An amazing high fantasy story! It was so intriguing and certainly not as dry as I had expected. The characters were all so unique and the story was breathtaking. I couldn’t stop reading: the political intrigues, the backgrounds of the different characters, their interactions with each other. It was an awesome book and I highly recommend it!

LGBTQIA+ representation: aromantic + asexual, asexual + alloromantic, demiromantic, homosexual, and non-binary characters.

Peter Darling

33358438This is an adorable romance story. Have you ever thought that Peter Pan might be transgender and homosexual? I certainly didn’t but Austin Chant weaves an amazing retelling with Peter Darling that left me wishing it was the actual sequel.

LGBTQIA+ representation: transgender and homosexual characters.

Sea Foam and Silence

30640172

The only verse novel on this list and another fairytale retelling. Sea Foam and Silence is a retelling of The Little Mermaid. It perfectly conveys the confusion that the little mermaid experiences in the human world and spins a new take on her quest for love.

LGBTQIA+ representation: asexual and homosexual characters.

When The Moon Was Ours

When The Moon Was Ours

When The Moon Was Ours is a beautiful tale of a girl and a boy, both outsiders in their community. A girl that grows roses out of the wrist of her hand, a boy that creates moons. The tale of their friendship and how the community views them. A lovely magical realism story.

LGBTQIA+ representation: transgender character.

Labyrinth Lost

27969081

Labyrinth Lost was a delightful story. Alex doesn’t want to be a witch, ends up magicking her family away and has to find them again. It was a light and fun story, and one of the only books that I’ve read with a main character who is Latina.

LGBTQIA+ representation: homosexual and bisexual characters.


What are your favourite books with LGBTQIA+ characters? Have you read any of the books on my list?

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite LGBTQIA+ reads

  1. I haven’t read any of them but I do have Peter Darling, just need to get around to it and i’m very excited to! I also already had Sea foam & Silence and Labyrinth Lost as want-to-read on Goodreads but don’t have them yet (only recently heard of Sea foam & Silence). I hadn’t heard of the others ones. Great list! Always on the lookout for more LGBTQ+ books! My list is at http://wickedjr89sbookblog.blogspot.com/2017/04/top-5-wednesday-favorite-lgbtq-reads.html 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’d never heard of City of Strife before but it sounds wonderful, I’m definitely adding it to my list, along with Peter Darling! I’ve heard good things about When the Moon Was Ours as well, so I’ll have to get to that. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. City of Strife has such a great cover! (And it sounds like a great book too, haha). When the Moon Was Ours has been on my nightstand for awhile; I think I will read it this month. I just finished Radio Silence (contemporary YA with bisexual, gay, and asexual rep but no romance) and I loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

