Memes

Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF books on my TBR

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by Sam from ThoughtsonTomes. It’s a weekly meme. If you want to look for the past or future topics, you can visit the Goodreads group.


Top 5 Wednesday - Top SFF books on my TBR
Top 5 Wednesday – Top SFF books on my TBR

I’m very excited about this week’s topics because I love fantasy books. I’m always looking for new recommendations, so if you have any recs, please tell me about them! Science fiction isn’t quite up my lane though. However if you think that I might be interested in a book, you’re welcome to leave me a comment as well.

Here’s my list (there isn’t is any particular order)! Clicking on the book titles will take you to their Goodreads page.


The Library of Fates

32930680A princess who sacrifices herself to become the bride of an evil king. A slave who is finally free to do what she wants. A quest to find a library that can change their fates.

Why I want to read it: It’s inspired by Indian mythology. There are two female protagonists – TWO. And it features a library!

Beasts Made of Night

Beasts made of nightTaj is the most-talented sin-eater indentured to the mages. A talent that results in the guilt of sin appearing on his mind and on his body. A talent that results in him becoming involved in a political conspiracy.

What I want to read it: The idea of sin being something tangible is fascinating.

Earth Boy

Earth BoyThis is book two of the Djinn-Son Duology. Here’s my review for Fire Boy.

I’m not going to summarise the blurb because I don’t want you to see spoilers.

Why I want to read it: The first book was amazing and I truly fell in love with the world of djinns that Sami Shah created. Wahid has asthma and it’s really cool to read about someone with asthma in a fantasy novel!

The Dark Wife

The Dark WifePersephone finds more than freedom, when she takes up Hades’ offer to come the land of the dead. She finds love.

The first two sentences of the blurb won me over. “Three thousand years ago, a god told a lie. Now, only a goddess can tell the truth.”

Why I want to read it: I’ve always been fascinated by the intricacy of the story between Hades and Persephone, so a retelling that includes an f/f romance seems to be right up my street. Hades doesn’t kidnap Persephone!

A Crown of Wishes

A crown of wishesThis is the companion book to The Star-Touched Queen. You can see my review for the first book here.

Even though it’s a companion book, it is also a sequel, so I won’t be summarising this blurb either.

Why I want to read it: Hopefully more breath-taking saree descriptions. One of the main characters of this book, was a favourite character of mine in the first. The first book was awesome!


Which fantasy books are on your TBR? Do you know of any books that you think I should read?

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF books on my TBR

  1. Every single one of these sound fantastic! I’ve only heard of two of these books so I’m adding the others to my tbr list now. I love Fantasies based on South Asian myths even though so few exist (or at least, I haven’t heard of that many).

    Like

  2. So many great choices! I almost included Beasts of Night on my list, but decided not to for some reason that I can’t remember, haha. I also reeeally need to read The Star-Touched Queen! I bought it soon after it released and yet still haven’t read it. I even met Roshani Chokshi back in September, swore I was going to read it ASAP, and then proceeded to stick it back on my shelf and forget about it, haha. I’ll get to it one of these days, I swear. 😛
    Here’s my T5W if you’re interested and haven’t seen it already: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2017/04/05/top-5-sff-books-on-my-tbr/

    Like

  3. So many lovely covers *-* The first two books intrigue me the most. One fantasy I read recently is When the Sea Turned to Silver by Grace Lin, a middle grade novel inspired by Chinese mythology. Lin also provides gorgeous illustrations for the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

