Reviews

Review: Chameleon Moon – RoAnna Sylver

31949559
Book cover: Evelyn and Regan stand in front of Danae, Rose, Hans, Finn and Zilch. The city of Parole is in the background. There are helicopters flying in the flaming sky.

The day I heard about the #AceBookClub (check out the hashtag on Twitter), they were reading Chameleon Moon. The idea of the book club is to read a book that has asexual representation and discuss it with others on Twitter. (Just so you know: You don’t have to be on the asexual spectrum to join.)

Chameleon Moon is a story about outcasts, people with superpowers and the mystery of a burning city. It’s #ownvoices. 

The Good

The diversity representation was impressive. It’s a show-not-tell story, which I really enjoyed. Some of the characters had marginalisations which were only shown later on in the book. Thus, it didn’t feel like the author was forcing herself to include diverse characters. It was very positive that the superpowers didn’t cure the characters who had their mental illnesses or disabilities.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading the book, as I couldn’t get a lot of information out of the blurb. The story was quite original and it took me some time to get into the flow. However, I was enjoying the book as soon as I had understood the basic structure of the city and the superpowers. The world-building was intriguing and creative. The superpowers that the characters had were all very different and detailed.

It was a relief to read something that didn’t focus that much on romance for once.

The story touches on discrimination and activism. Here’s my favourite quote in the book: “You know that saying? Evil triumphs when good people see, and do nothing?”

The Bad

The pacing was a bit too slow for me at times.

All in all

It was a lovely read. It did take me a while to get into the book as I found it too slow at the beginning but it really picked up in the middle. I will certainly be getting the next book, as I want to know what happens next.

4-stars
4 stars

What’s your opinion on Chameleon Moon? Have you read it? Do you plan to read it?

4 thoughts on “Review: Chameleon Moon – RoAnna Sylver

  1. I’ve added this one to my TBR, thanks for the review. On the Edge of Gone does a great job of effortlessly representing more groups than I thought possible as well – I’m hoping to review it next week. Love that this doesn’t feature a “cure or cause” narrative about superpowers because I’m so sick of those.

    Like

  2. I read Chameleon Moon in January and loved it! I actually just ordered the second book The Lifeline Signal and have the short stories (which I haven’t read yet).
    I also love that it doesn’t have a “cure or cause” narrative. Being disabled myself those are the last kind of books I want to read. I found Chameleon Moon to be great though ❤ Wonderful review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

