Reviews

Review: The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi

25203675
Maya looks at a city in the distance, surrounded by a dark, starry sky

I’m late to the party but I’ve read The Star-Touched Queen at last. I had heard that The Star-Touched Queen was similar to Hades and Persephone but based on Hindu myths. Obviously, it went right on my TBR.

It’s a standalone novel and the companion book has already been released. It’s #ownvoices.

The Good

Oh my! The world-building was impressive. It was intricate and very detailed. The writing was gorgeous as well. I feel like I could describe the Night Bazaar and Bharata to a painter, and they would be able to paint it correctly. Maya’s idea of love is described really beautifully. And by the way, does someone want to give me the saree of “dove-gray silk strewn with pearls”?

I didn’t know what to expect at any time in this book. There were so many twists and turns, so many surprising scenes, and at not point did the pacing falter. It’s a rather fast-paced book but this suits the story. I even forgot to highlight the passages I liked after the 65% mark, as I was totally immersed in the story.

At the beginning, I thought that it will be similar to a lot of insta-love stories but it wasn’t. Insta-love is one of the tropes that I don’t exactly hate – I just don’t quite understand how it’s possible. Thus, I assumed I would like it in this story either, however it actually made sense.

The characters are all really well-developed. They have distinct personalities, are all described vividly and don’t only exist to serve as decoration.

The title of the book is very fitting. It doesn’t only establish a link to the Maya’s horoscope but also to links to the facts that she finds out about herself.

The Bad

Nothing.

All in all

I am a huge fan of this book (I think you can tell), so obviously I’m going to recommend it to everybody. It’s beautiful. It’s intricate. It’s lovely. Do read it.

5-stars
5 stars

Have you read The Star-Touched Queen? Will you be reading the companion book?

12 thoughts on “Review: The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi

  1. This was such a lovely read! I remember loving the writing and the concept was so great. (Also I kind of adored Kamala too so bonus! Haha.) Loved this review! I really have to get my hands on that companion novel.

    Like

  2. So glad you liked it! I loved this book! The one thing I did not like was the 10 year plot twist at the end lol! I was so shocked I had to put the book down and think about it for a bit. Over all I really liked it and the author has such beautiful writing. I can’t wait to read Gauri’s story!

    Like

  3. I haven’t read it yet, so you’re not the last to the party! (Dude, so many books to read. So. Many.) Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

