Memes

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #6

diverse-spotlight1.png

My blog focusses on diverse books, so quite obviously I’ve fallen in love with this blog meme. Check out #DiversityThursday on Twitter and other social media to stay up-to-date with diverse books.

For a detailed explanation about Diversity Spotlight Thursday, look up the host’s (Aimal) introductory blog post: Blog Meme Announcement: Diversity Spotlight Thursday.

Meme summary:

  1. A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet
  3. A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet
A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed

26017107Am I Normal Yet? is a lovely story about Evie, who just wants to have a normal college life. She hides her obsessive compulsive disorder and generalised anxiety disorder from her new friends.

Evie does want a boyfriend and spends a majority of the time looking for one. While the book does focus on the boyfriend search, it also highlights the importance of friends and family, and focusses a lot of these relationships as well. It was refreshing to read a story that includes this and doesn’t just focus on romance. 

For a more detailed review of Am I Normal Yet?, here is my review.

A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet

30192213.jpg

I use the label ‘brown’ for myself. Hence, when I heard about the book Brown, I knew that I had to read it. It’s a non-fiction book that studies what it means to be a brown-skinned person in the world.

It is a collection of stories that portrays people from various countries (four continents), social classes and religions. I’m expecting it to have a focus on intersectionality.

The cover is fascinating as all the letters in the title are in different shades of brown.

This book is #ownvoices.

A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet

31286202.jpg

Based on the reviews I’ve read The Upside of Unrequited is a very diverse book. Molly is Jewish, fat and has anxiety. Her twin sister, Cassie, is a lesbian. Molly and Cassie have two mothers. One of their mothers is woman of colour.

Cassie and her girlfriend want to set Molly up, but her feelings about the potential boyfriend are complicated and she’s also not sure about her feelings for her co-worker.

The blurb is captivating. Molly doesn’t quite understand how people can get together, since she finds love complicated and thinks it is unlikely that two people will like each other at the same time. I’m sold – this promises to not be an insta-love story!

This book is #ownvoices.

Release date: April 11th 2017

Which books are you looking forward to reading? Do you have a diverse book recommendation?

4 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #6

  1. The Upside Of Unrequited was amazing, and it definitely didn’t feel like an insta-love story! I haven’t read the other two but I’ve heard a lot about The Spinster Club series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

