Memes

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #5

diverse-spotlight1.png

My blog focusses on diverse books, so quite obviously I’ve fallen in love with this blog meme. Check out #DiversityThursday on Twitter and other social media to stay up-to-date with diverse books.

For a detailed explanation about Diversity Spotlight Thursday, look up the host’s (Aimal) introductory blog post: Blog Meme Announcement: Diversity Spotlight Thursday.

Meme summary:

  1. A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet
  3. A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet
A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed

33358438

Peter Darling was a spontaneous read. I read the review of a fellow blogger ,bought it, read it and love it, all in the same day.

If you enjoy retellings, you are in for a treat with this book. It’s not only a retelling but also a sequel to Peter Pan. In my opinion, it’s better than the original book.

Peter is a transgender man, who returns to Neverland as an adult and rediscovers the place. The world-building is amazing in this story. The fairies were beautifully written and Captain Hook is a lovely, realistic character.

It was an emotional read but also a fun and fascinating story. The idea is innovative and very original, two words I would not have associated with a retelling.

For a more detailed review of Peter Darling, here is my review.

This book is #ownvoices.

A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet

33126630.jpg

One of the most hyped books around: Dreadnought.

Danny has been hiding the fact that she’s transgender. Dreadnought, a superhero, dies right in front of her, and she ends up inheriting his powers. The powers transform her body and suddenly everyone can see she is a girl. Danny has to master her superpowers, and sort out how people are feeling about her being transgender at the same time.

I love superhero stories, so this book is right up my alley. The reviews I’ve seen so far are very positive, thus I have high hopes.

This book is #ownvoices.

A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet

33411130.jpg

I think I’m going to be able to relate to Amina’s Voice. It’s a story about fitting in school. Note: I’m not Pakistani American, I’m a Eurasian that went to school for a few years in Germany. I know what it’s like to feel like I don’t belong in school due to being different.

Amina is a Pakistani American girl in middle school. Her friend, Soojin, starts to hang out with Emily, and changes her name (this part of the blurb resonated with me, as I don’t have a German name and people are always trying to give me a nickname). Amina tries to figure out if she should be more ‘American’, and follow in Soojin’s footsteps, or not.

I’m intrigued by this book and think it is a crucial story. It’s superb that this has been published with a Middle Grade audience in mind.

This book is #ownvoices.

Release date: March 14th 2017

Which books are you looking forward to reading? Do you have a diverse book recommendation?

18 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #5

  1. So agreed with Peter Darling – I’m halfway through and loving every second 🙂 I actually REALLY don’t like the original Peter Pan (probably because I was named after Wendy) so discovering a diverse retelling has endeared it to me a lot more.

    Like

      1. I was! My mum actually wanted my middle names to be Moira Angela like Wendy in the book – thank goodness my dad stopped her! It was her favourite book when she was young.

        Like

  2. Amina’s Voice sounds amazing!! I just added it to my TBR on Goodreads. I am so excited about all these different books being released this year with Muslim characters! I’ll finally have something to relate to in the book world 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I absolutely LOVE this meme! It was my fifth post today 🙂

    Nihaad | Read & Seek

    Like

      1. I’ve noticed that too! Which is so weird because the point of having diverse books is that it reflects the real world of today. And every diverse book I read only focuses on one particular element! :/

        Like

  3. I just added Peter Darling to my tbr, I am intrigued by the premise. It sounds really good. Amina’s voice is on my tbr too! I’m really happy that more and more Muslim #ownvoices books are coming out.

    Like

  4. I read Coffee Boy by Austin Chant so I’m really glad to see that Peter Darling is getting so much attention and really need to read it!

    I’ve heard so many good things about Dreadnought and Amina’s Voice (plus look at those gorgeous covers).

    Like

Leave a Reply

