Reviews

Review: Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne

26017107.jpg
Book cover: Flow chart with the question “Am I Normal Yet?” and the options “Yes” and “No”.

Am I Normal Yet? is about Evie’s first year in college (before university, Evie’s sixteen). Evie has generalised anxiety disorder and obsessive compulsive disorder, doesn’t want anyone to know about it and wants to have a normal life (which should include friends and a boyfriend).

The author works for a youth charity website, and interviewed people about mental health for her book.

This is the first book of The Spinster Club trilogy.

The Good

In my opinion, obesessive compulsive disorder and generalised anxiety disorder were described excellently. Her anxiety and OCD are part of Evie and her interactions with the world. I was glad to see that these were woven into the story. I also enjoyed reading about her take on people making jokes about mental health issues and her reasons behind finding certain statements about mental health problematic.

One of the character’s has a tribal tattoo. The main character asks him what kind of tribe it’s from and what it means, to which he has no answers. Loved this part, as it irritates me when people get tribal tattoos and don’t think that the tattoos might have a deeper meaning and that the tribes that inspire these tattoos have better names that just tribe.

When I started reading the book, I thought that it would focus heavily on Evie getting a boyfriend. The stories following her dating life were super, as they showed the insecurities that she had and that dating isn’t easy. However, Evie’s relationship to her platonic friends and family, play a huge role as well. This was unexpected but great.

Mental health issues and how they affect women and men are discussed further during the last part of the book. This was educational and not dry.

The Bad

A hug is described as a “girly hug” and two of the boys did something in a  “boy way”. In my opinion, these are sexist descriptions. Menstruation is described by one of the girls as something that all women have, which excludes transgender men and some non-binary people.

All in all

Other than the issues that I mentioned above, I really enjoyed this book. It’s a great story that depicts the importance of a good support network and describes the daily life of a person with obsessive compulsive disorder and generalised anxiety disorder. I’ve already got the next book in my library. 

4-stars
4 stars

Have you got Am I Normal Yet? on your TBR?

9 thoughts on “Review: Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

