Memes

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #4

diverse-spotlight1.png

My blog focusses on diverse books, so quite obviously I’ve fallen in love with this blog meme. Check out #DiversityThursday on Twitter and other social media to stay up-to-date with diverse books.

For a detailed explanation about Diversity Spotlight Thursday, look up the host’s (Aimal) introductory blog post: Blog Meme Announcement: Diversity Spotlight Thursday.

Meme summary:

  1.  A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet
  3. A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet
A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed

26110068
Saree is an amazing book. I would consider it one of my top finds of the year (even though we haven’t even finished a quarter of the year yet). 

How often have you read a book that is set in Sri Lanka or has characters that are from Sri Lanka? This is one of the few I have read – and some of my family members immigrated from Sri Lanka.

The book is, at the same time, a continuous story as it is a collection of short stories. Each of the six stories follows a different character. Some stories may not seem to be connected with the others at the beginning; some follow minor characters of previous stories. At the end, all of the threads are sewn together and one is able to see the how saree-making has brought together people of different ethnicities, religions, social classes and genders.

Due to the political situation the world is in today, I would say this is a suitable read. It’s a beautifully-written book about the consequences of the Sri Lankan Civil War. 

For a more detailed review of Saree, here is my review.

This book is #ownvoices.

A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet

60931.jpg
Kindred is the first sci-fi novel written by an African American woman.

I’m intrigued by the blurb. Dana time-travels to the past and saves a white boy from drowning. She keep time-travelling and protecting the white boy, and realises that she is protecting an ancestor of hers.

I’m hoping that this book will deal with racism and slavery, as well as give us an interesting perspective as to how African Americans were treated in the US in the two different time periods.

Time-travelling isn’t one of my favourite themes, however I think it could work in this plot.

This book is #ownvoices.

A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet

30753517

I enjoyed Sami Shah’s book Fire Boy (my review), so when I found out that he had contributed to a short story anthology, I got very interested. Other than Sami Shah, the only other contributing author whose work I’ve read is Nnedi Okorafor. She wrote Zahra the Windseeker (my review).

The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories focusses on djinns. It is a diverse collection of short stories, written by various authors. The stories take place in different regions and are influenced by different religions.

I’m very taken by the title of the book and am looking forward to reading it.

To my knowledge some of the stories are #ownvoices.

Release date: March 14th 2017

Which books are you looking forward to reading? Do you have a diverse book recommendation?

24 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #4

      1. You’re most welcome (: & it sounds amazing, I’m indian and I find it hard to find much representation but I also haven’t read any books with sri lankian characters or set there so it sounds great!

        Like

  1. Kindred is brilliant! 😀 And thanks for the recommendation of The Djinn Falls in Love – I absolutely adore short stories and diverse SFF, so this is definitely going on the TBR!

    Like

  2. Great choices! The first sci/fi written by a black woman? How have I not heard about this before? Thank you for the recommendation! And “The Djinn Falls in Love” sounds really good too! I absolutely love stories about djinns.

    Like

    1. I finished Kindred yesterday and I can whole-heartedly recommend it. It portrayed racism in two different time periods and I thought it was very realistic. It was very interesting to read about how somebody who is not a slave might deal with being black during the period of slavery in the US.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

