Memes

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #3

diverse-spotlight1.png

My blog focusses on diverse books, so quite obviously I’ve fallen in love with this blog meme. Check out #DiversityThursday on Twitter and other social media to stay up-to-date with diverse books.

For a detailed explanation about Diversity Spotlight Thursday, look up the host’s (Aimal) introductory blog post: Blog Meme Announcement: Diversity Spotlight Thursday.

Meme summary:

  1.  A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet
  3. A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet
A diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed

1827303
Does My Head Look Big In this? was one of my first diverse reads of 2017.

Follow Amal navigate through the consequences of deciding to wear the hijab. Friends, family, classmates, teachers: all have different opinions.

There were a few passages, I didn’t like that much. Nevertheless, I recommend this book to people who want to learn more about what the hijab is all about. The reader is given different opinions on the hijab and there is really good Muslim representation. The characters themselves are diverse in ethnicity and religion.

For a more detailed review of Does My Head Look Big In This?, here is my review.

This book is #ownvoices.

A diverse book that has been released but I haven’t read yet

31949559.jpg
Chameleon Moon kept popping up in my Twitter timeline and then The Shrinkette posted her review. I bought it right after reading her review.

I’m not sure if it’s sci-fi or fantasy – however I do know that the characters have to find out why the city Parole is burning – literally burning in flames. A lot of the characters are superhumans. I’m a huge fan of X-Men so this is right up my street.

I feel like reading a very diverse book at the moment and this book sounds very promising. Ace rep, mental illness rep, polyamorous, and quite a lot more.

This book is #ownvoices.

 

A diverse book that hasn’t been released yet

32313894.jpg

The Hate U Give is coming out in less than two weeks and I want to read it as soon as I can.

It’s inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement. The main character witnesses her unarmed friend being fatally shot by a police officer. She is the only witness.

I think this is going to be a good read that will deal with some of the inner conflicts social justice activists have.

I don’t know much about the Black Lives Matter movement as I’m in Germany, so I’m looking forward to learning more about it.

This book is #ownvoices.

Release date: February 28th 2017

Which books are you looking forward to reading? Do you have a diverse book recommendation?

7 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #3

  1. Does My Head Look Big In this? has been in my tbr for a while, it looks amazing and the fact that it’s #ownvoices makes me really excited about reading it. Also, The Hate U Give is one of my most anticipated releases of this year, I think it’s such an important book.

    Like

  2. i’ve been meaning to read does my head look big in this for a while now. i’m glad you liked it! i don’t hear many people talking about it.

    i’m expecting the hate u give to turn up in the main in a few days, and i can’t wait to read it! it sounds so interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

