Reviews

Review: One Last Song – S. K. Falls

234351331
Book cover: Saylor has her hands in her hair and looks down.

Why did I decide to read One Last Song? The cover looked beautiful. The main character has Munchausen Syndrome (this isn’t a spoiler as she talks about it from the beginning). I guess those are the two reasons I decided to read it. This book is #ownvoices for Indian representation.

The Good

Saylor has Munchausen Syndrome. I thought I knew what that meant but the first few chapters kept shocking me. I learnt a lot about what Munchausen Syndrome is and how a person who has it couldbe treated.

The main character is of Indian descent on her mother’s side. I assume she’s biracial but her father’s ethnicity isn’t mentioned. Mental health is often represented by white people in the media, so this was a welcomed change. It’s crucial that POC are represented in this genre as there is still stigma surrounding mental health in some communities.

Some of the minor characters have to deal with terminal illness and the reader learns that they don’t want to define themselves by their illness. This is quite interesting as usually characters that have illnesses are solely defined through their illness.

I hate it when people ask me to smile. However, there is one scene in which a minor character asks Saylor to smile. In my opinion, asking Saylor to smile in that situation was fine.

The Bad

Saylor describes a person in the photo as being Puerto Rican. However, she never says how she knows that. I’m assuming that she can’t tell where a person comes from, based on what he looks like, so I wasn’t happy with this scene.

The ending was too vague. I wasn’t satisfied with the last pages of the book.

All in all

This book is a must-read. I couldn’t stop reading this book as I really wanted to know what happened next. It’s enjoyable but very emotional.

Trigger warnings: terminal illness, rape and sexual abuse.

one-last-song
4 out of 5 stars; What I liked: characters are not solely characterised by their illnesses; POC main character with Munchausen Syndrome; What I disliked: vague ending, using nationality to describe a person the narrator does not know

Have you read One Last Song? Do you want to read it?

Leave a Reply

